Organisational Structure

Governing Body(GB)

Management Committee (MC)

Districts identified for establishment of ATMA in NE

State wise List of  ATMA Districts


ATMA would be supported by Governing Body (GB) and Management Committee (MC). The Governing Body is a policy making body and provide guidance as well as review the progress and functioning of ATMA. 


1 District Magistrate/ Collector Chairman
2 Chief Executive Officer (CEO)/
Chief Development Officer (CDO) 
Vice- Chairman
3 Joint Director/ Deputy Director (Ag)  Member
4  A representative from ZRS/ KVK  Member
5 One Farmer representative Member
6 One Livestock Producer Member
7 Representative of Women Farmers Interest Group Member
8 One Horticulture Farmer Member
9 One SC/ST Farmer representative Member
10 A representative of NGO  Member
11 Lead Bank Officer of the District Member
12 A representative of District Industrial Centre Member
13 Representative of Agriculture Marketing Board Member
14 Representative of input supplying Association Member
15 One Fisheries/Sericulture representative Member
16 Project Director ATMA  Secretary- Treasurer

Appointment/ Nomination/Term of Members:

Non-official members of GB will be appointed for a period of 2 years by APC on the recommendation of the Chairman of GB.

Some initial appointments would be staggered to ensure that about two-thirds of the members would be carry over for an additional year on the GB.

Thirty percent of the farmer representatives on the GB would be reserved for women farmers to ensure their interests are fully represented.

Key Functions of ATMA Governing Board

The key functions of ATMA Governing Board would be to:

  1. Review and approve Strategic Research and Extension Plan (SREP) and annual action plans that are prepared and submitted by the participating units.
  2. Receive and review annual reports presented by the participating units, providing feedback and direction to them as needed, for various research and extension activities being carried out within the district.
  3. Receive and allocate project funds to carry out priority research, extension and related activities within the district.
  4. Foster the organization and development of Farmers Interest Groups (FIGs) and Farmers Organization (FOs) within the district.
  5. Facilitate the greater involvement of private sector and firms and organizations in providing inputs, technical support, agro-processing and marketing services to farmers.
  6. Encourage agriculture lending institutions to increase the availability of capital to resource poor and marginal farmers, especially SC, ST and women farmers.
  7. Encourage each line department, plus the KVK and ZRS, to establish farmer advisory committee to provide feedback and input into their respective R-E programmes.
  8. Enter into contracts and agreements as appropriate to promote and support agricultural development activities within the district.
  9. Identify other sources of financial support that would help ensure the financial sustainability of the ATMA and its participating units.
  10. Establish revolving funds/ accounts for each participating unit, and encourage each unit to make available technical services, such as artificial insemination or soil testing on a cost recovery basis moving towards full cost recovery in a phased manner.
  11. Arrange for the periodic audit of ATMAs financial accounts and
  12. Adopt and amend the rules and by-laws for the ATMA.
Site Designed and Hosted by:
National Informatics Centre, Meghalaya State Centre,
Content maintained and updated by : ICAR - Agricultural Technology Application Research Institute, Umiam (Barapani)