Arunachal Pradesh










Area : 10,491.69 sq km.  Capital : Agartala    Population : 31,99,203 Principal Languages : Bangali & Kokborak


Tripura has its unique tribal culture and a fascinating folklore. The history of Tripura can be learnt from ‘Rajmala’ chronicles of king Tripura and writings of historian. There are references of Tripura even in the Mahabharata and the Puranas. According to ‘Rajmala’, the rulers were known by the surname ‘Fa’ meaning ‘Father’. There is a reference to rulers of Bengal helping Tripura kings in the 14th century. Kings of Tripura had to face frequent Mughal invasions with varying successes. They defeated and Sultans of Bengal in several battles. Nineteenth century marked the beginning of the modern era in Tripura when king Maharaja Bir Chandra Kishore Manikya Bahadur modelled his administrative set-up on the British India pattern and brought in various reforms. His successors ruled Tripura till 15th October 1949 when the state merged with the Indian Union. Initially apart ‘C’ state, it became a centrally administered territory with the reorganization of state in 1956. In 1972, Tripura attained the status of a full-fledged state. Tripura is strategically situated between the river valleys of Myanmar and Bangladesh. Encircled almost on three sides by Bangladesh, it is linked with Assam and Mizoram in the North-East.


Geographical area of Tripura is 10,49,169 hectare. It is assessed that about 2,80,000 hectares of land is cultivable. As on 31 March 2004 an area of 77,722 hectare of land has been brought under assured irrigation by providing lift irrigation, deep tube well, diversion, medium irrigation, shallow tube wells and pump sets. This is about 27.75 per cent of the cultivable land in the state. 1,178 L.I. schemes, 160 deep tube wells, 25 diversion schemes have been completed and 3 medium irrigation schemes, namely, (i) Gumti (ii) Khowai and (iii) Manu are providing irrigation water to the part portion of the command areas as canal system has not been completed.

The Gas Based Combined Cycle Thermal Project at Monarchak under Sonamura Sub-Division, West Tripura District was initially planned for 500 MW capacity by NEEPCO Ltd. Subsequently, there has been downsized to 280 MW due to revision in gas availability from ONGCL. However, the capacity will be enhanced to 500 MW on receipt of gas availability of require quantum. At present the own generation of the state is 70 MW against an installed capacity of 105 MW. The present peak demand of the state is 163MW. Government of Tripura has committed to purchase 70- 80MW from the 280 MW of Monarchak Project of NEEPCO. Sanction towards installation of 1 x 21MW G.T. project at Rokhia, west Tripura for Rs 80.94 crore has been obtained from Government of India and order placed to M/S Bhel for supply and erection of the same. Another scheme of 2 x 21 MW G.T. Project at Baramura, West Tripura was submitted in June 2002. The Planning Commission agreed for inclusion of 1 x 21 MW G.T. set at Baramura, west Tripura in Tenth Plan of NEC. As on 31 March 2004, 57,450 families below poverty line category are connected with electricity under Kutir Jyoti scheme.


Roads : The total length of roads in Tripura is 15,227 km of which major district roads constitute 454 km and other district roads are for 1,538 km.

Railways : The total length of lines within the State is 64 km. It has been extended up to Manughat. Work of extension of railway line up to Agartala is in progress.

Aviation : The main airport at Agartala is connected with Kolkata, Guwahati. There are airports at Kailashahar and Kamalpur though they are not functioning at present.


Sl.No. District Area (sq. km) Population (in lakh) Headquarter
1. North Tripura  2,820.63 5,90,913 Kailashahar
2. South Tripura 2,151.77 7,67,440 Udaipur
3. West Tripura  2,996.82 15,32,982 Agartala
4. Dhalai  2,552.47 3,07,868 Ambassa
Site Designed and Hosted by:
National Informatics Centre, Meghalaya State Centre,
Content maintained and updated by : ICAR - Agricultural Technology Application Research Institute, Umiam (Barapani)